Coronary arteries

  As we have seen above, although all blood passes through the heart, the heart itself takes its nourishment and oxygen through separate arteries called the coronary arteries.

There are two coronary arteries, the Right Coronary Artery (RCA) and the Left Coronary Artery (LCA). Both originate in the aorta, our body’s main artery. The LCA, also called the Left Main (LM) divides into the Left Anterior Descending Artery (LAD) and the Left Circumflex Artery (LCx). So totally there are three arteries in all, RCA, LAD and LCx.

Blockages usually develop within these three arteries and such blockages must be either ‘opened’ by Percutaneous Transluminal Coronary Angioplasty (PTCA) or ‘bypassed’ by Coronary Artery Bypass Graft (CABG) operation. (chapters 12 and 13)

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter